International Swede of the Year

What is International Swede of the Year?

Since 1988, Swedes Worldwide annually appoints a Swede who has done ​​outstanding contributions to profile Sweden internationally in culture, business, science, sports or in the humanitarian field. Previous winners of the award include Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus, Percy Barnevik, Hans Blix, Anne-Sofie von Otter, Margot Wallström och Zlatan Ibrahimović among many others.

Oscar Carlsson was the first to be designated as International Swede of the Year. It happened in 1988 when the Swedes Worldwide celebrated its 50th anniversary. At the 75-years anniversary, he took part, as well as several other award winners, in an interesting panel discussion about their deeds. Click here to see the clip. At the event several greetings also came from many other previous winners.

Previous winners of the award